height="a"/>

As minorities, Indonesia’s Christian children are prone to be bullied at school, given lower marks or forced to study Islam. In fact, a good number have converted to Islam. “We are partly to blame,” said a local church leader, “because we haven’t done enough to nurture their faith and their living.” Follow Open Doors’ journey to strengthen Indonesian children by empowering Sunday school teachers. 

Alda (27) had never heard of the term ‘golden age’ before. She is a mother of two and a Sunday school teacher, but, living in a remote town, never once has she attended any teaching or parenting seminar.

So when Open Doors organized a series of Sunday School Teacher’s Training (SSTT) in the last three years in her province, Alda was overwhelmed with new knowledge and experiences.

“I learned to develop a teaching plan, and tailor lessons according to children’s various age levels,” she said. “Also, I now know how to use props to excite the children and help them understand Bible lessons more easily.”

A particular lesson has left a deep mark in her heart. “I discovered that a child’s first five years are the most important stage in his life — a ‘golden age’. This information is crucial in my role as not only a Sunday school teacher, but also a mother. I cried when I remember how my husband beat our first child many times during his ‘golden age’,” Alda recounted.

Alda is one of many parents and Sunday school teachers in Indonesia who lack knowledge in raising children, and cultivate their faith to prepare them for possible persecution later in their lives…

…Because, in Muslim-majority Indonesia, even children face difficult times for being followers of Christ.

Their faith is often questioned and ridiculed by their Muslim neighbors or schoolmates. In the more Islamic areas, students are given lower marks at school by their teachers just because they are Christians.

Unfortunately, many churches in remote areas lack a proper curriculum and materials to nurture the children’s faith. This has resulted in numerous reports of children and youth converting to Islam to get better jobs, education, or for ease of obtaining life partners.

Years ago, a pastor from an island close to Alda’s village broke down in tears as he was telling the story of a Christian village that converted to Islam for rice, instant noodles and used clothes. “But, I realize, we are partly to blame. We haven’t done enough to nurture their faith and their living,” he said.

Open Doors understands that, for the Indonesian (WORLD WATCH LIST #38)Church to survive and thrive in the long run, children need to be strengthened today. Among the most effective ways is through their guardians at church — the Sunday school teachers.

Called the Sunday School Teacher’s’ Training (SSTT), the project aims to prepare the local Church for persecution, by training teachers in remote and religiously hostile areas in Indonesia with, firstly, foundational lessons of Christianity and, secondly, biblical principles of persecution that are tailored for a young audience.

The training has run from 2016 to 2018 across five provinces in Indonesia, reaching more than 530 teachers from various ages, professions, and educational backgrounds. Three main topics are discussed over a span of three years: guiding children to Christ, how to be a creative Sunday school teacher, and preparing children for mission.

To be where the need is (where Christians are the most persecuted, and are impoverished), Open Doors must go to great lengths. This means going through jungles, mountains, and seas to reach remote villages. At times, it also means encountering life-or-death situations.

“A squall hit our ship on one of our travels. High, strong waves tossed it violently. People vomited. Some sang Christian songs while others cried out loud for God’s help,” recalled a field trainer. “But we arrived at the destination safe and sound. I was shocked and scared. But that experience confirms that God will always be with us, even in the worst of times, to fulfil His mission.”

The perilous journey was not in vain. The following testimonies from past training participants are hinting that a small step in children’s ministry can be a big leap for the future of Indonesia’s Church.

“The Sunday school teachers at my church now have a better understanding and attitude towards the children. They seem to love the children more sincerely. They’re also more patient and gentle when facing chaotic situations or a crying child. Before, we had to tell them what to do in such circumstances. The children surely benefit from the change: they will mirror the teachers’ loving attitude and be more excited to come to Sunday school. I’m particularly pleased that the training involved various church denominations so we can grow together! Thank you so much. We are grateful for your presence in Aceh. Jesus bless you.”

CR, 43, a mother and head of Children ministry at her church, Aceh

“The training taught me how to preach the Gospel to children, how to teach them, how to use props to facilitate better learning, and also new songs with movements. These are very useful to me as I hope to be a better teacher and storyteller. The training has challenged me to love the children genuinely and build good communication and relationship with them. My hope is for these children to come to know God and become better individuals, becoming good examples in their families. Thank you for this training. I am blessed with so much new knowledge. Keep doing the good work for God so that many more will be blessed.”

Wed, 31, West Sumatra.  

She started teaching in Sunday schools in 2015 

Open Doors’ training was her first Sunday school teacher’s training

“I became a Sunday school teacher five years ago out of a desire to do something useful for children. They used to play outside all day long and I was sad to see it. So I started a class at home where I teach them Sunday school lessons. Open Doors’ SSTT was my first training ever, and I have been attending the training since 2016 until now [February 2018], where I learned new things in serving and teaching children. I especially value the lessons on props and movements, and on engaging the students in class, such as asking them to search for Bible verses. [Previously, the teacher simply read the Bible to them.] As a result, they can already differentiate between  the Old and New Testaments. I wish for this training to continue. I’m eager to learn more so I can guide our children towards a better future.”

Hotmaida, 44, a mother, vendor, and Sunday school teacher, Aceh

“I learned that being a Sunday school teacher means I must be willing to sacrifice both time and money. For example, I don’t mind using my own money to buy small presents as prizes to motivate the children. I open my house for them during weekdays too, and they would ask me to help them with homework. I hope they will grow into good people who fear the Lord, respect their parents and other people.”

Lenny Pardosi, 35, a mother and farmer, and Sunday school teacher since 2015, Aceh

“I used to teach with loads of passion and desire to serve the children, but little skills. At the training, we were taught to design the topics and goals [for every meeting]. Moreover, I found new meaning in my role as a Sunday school teacher who shapes the next generation. Thank you, Open Doors, for your ministry. I know that you came here as a sacrifice, but keep doing the good work for Indonesian children. They are the arrows that we must fight for.”

Eka Susanti, 28, Aceh. Elementary and Sunday school teacher.

PLEASE PRAY:

  • Pray that the Sunday school teachers will continue to apply the knowledge and skills they had gained from the training in their respective churches.
  • Pray for God to bless all the teachers with passion, energy and love to patiently guide and teach children in all circumstances.
  • Pray for more church leaders to be willing to allocate more resources for children’s ministry, such as teaching tools and Sunday school teachers’ training.
  • Pray that the children would grow firm in their faith and become a blessing to their family, school and community.

---

Open Doors is an organization that assists and supports the persecuted church throughout the world. 

Give: Your gift enables us to support persecuted Christians practically

height="a"/>

印尼基督徒儿童作为少数群体,很容易在学校遭到霸凌,被老师恶意打低分,或者被迫学习伊斯兰教。事实上,已经有一些人改信了伊斯兰教。当地一位教会领袖说:“我们也有责任,因为我们没有做好,没有牧养好他们的信心和生命。

请跟我们一起走进印尼儿童的生活,见证主日学老师得到造就之后,如何坚固这些孩童。

27岁的阿尔达从未听过“黄金时期”这个词。阿尔达有两个孩子,自己也是主日学老师,但住在偏远地区,因而从未接受过任何教学或养育孩子方面的训练。

因此,当敞开的门在她的省份过去三年开办了一系列主日学老师培训(SSTT)时,她被新的知识和经验所震撼。

“我学会了如何制定教学计划,并针对不同年龄层的孩子设计课程,”她说。“此外,我现在知道如何使用道具来激发孩子的兴趣,帮助他们更轻松地明白圣经。”

有一节课特别让她印象深刻。“我才明白,一个孩子0-5岁的时光是人生中最重要的阶段——黄金时期。这个道理对我至关重要,不单是作为主日学老师,更是作为一个母亲。当我想起丈夫在儿子的‘黄金时期’多次打他时,我哭了。”

印尼有许多父母和主日学老师(阿尔达只是其中一人)都缺乏教养孩子的知识,不懂得如何培育信仰,帮助他们在生命后期可能会遇到的逼迫做好准备……

…因为在穆斯林占多数的印尼,就连孩子也会因为跟随耶稣而面对难处和困境。

孩子们的信仰经常遭到穆斯林邻居和同学的质疑和嘲笑。在较为伊斯兰化的地区,基督徒学生只因为信仰缘故,就被老师打低分。

不幸的是,许多偏远地区的教会缺乏栽培孩子信仰所需的课程和教材。这导致许多孩子和青少年为了更好的工作机会、教育或容易找到伴侣而改信伊斯兰教。

多年前,一个岛屿里的牧师分享往事时痛哭起来,因为有一个基督徒村庄的所有人都为了大米、速食面和旧衣服而改信伊斯兰教了。他说:“我们也有责任,因为我们没有做好,没有牧养好他们的信心和生命。”

敞开的门明白,就长期而言,印尼(全球守望名单#38)教会若是想要生存并发展下去,孩子们现在就需要得到坚固。而最有效的方法之一,就是在教会中借着主日学老师来引导他们。

该项目称为主日学老师培训(SSTT),旨在通过培训印尼偏远和宗教敌对地区的教师,为当地教会的逼迫做好准备。主要是基督教的基础课程,其次是专为年轻信徒特别制定,正确面对逼迫的圣经原理课。

我们从2016-2018年在印尼5个省份训练了530多位教师。3年来讨论了3个主题:把孩子领向基督、如何成为一名有创意的主日学老师、预备孩子参与宣教。

为了满足需要,敞开的门必须竭尽全力,去到基督徒最受逼迫及最贫困的地方。这意味着穿越丛林、高山和海洋到达偏远的村庄;有时候甚至会遇到生死攸关的情况。

“我们有一次在乘船途中遭遇了风暴。巨大的海浪猛烈摇晃着我们,大家都吐了。有些人唱起诗歌,其他人大声呼求主的救助,”一位前线训练员回忆道。“我们最后还是平安抵达目的地了。我感到惊慌和害怕。但那次经历告诉我,即使在最糟的时候,主都永远与我们同在,会让我们完成祂赋予的使命。”

这次危险的旅程没有白费。从以下培训参加者的见证说明了:儿童事工中的一小步,可以成为印尼教会未来的一大步。

“我教会的主日学老师现在对孩子们有了更好的理解和态度。他们似乎更真诚地爱孩子。面对混乱的状况或哭闹的孩子时,他们也会更加耐心和温柔。之前,我们必须告诉他们在这种情况下该怎么做。孩子们显然也从中受益:他们会效法老师的仁慈态度,并且更有兴致参加主日学。尤其让我欣慰的是,这个培训有多个宗派共同参与,这使我们得以一同成长!很感谢你们。我们为你们来到亚齐省而感恩。耶稣祝福你们。” 

--亚齐省某教会儿童事工主任,一位43岁的母亲CR

“培训教晓我如何向儿童传福音、如何教导他们、如何使用道具来促进学习质量、如何用动作教导新歌。这些对我也很有用,因为我希望成为更好的老师和讲故事的人。培训挑战我更真诚地去爱孩子,并与他们建立良好的沟通和关系。我希望这些孩子能认识神,成为一个更好的人,成为家庭中的好榜样。感谢你们的培训。那么多新知识,这让我很蒙福。请坚持为主做好善工,让更多人得到祝福。”

--来自苏门答腊西部的31岁老师 Wed。她2015年开始担任主日学老师,这是她第一次接受培训。

“5年前,我因为想要为孩子们做点贡献而成为了主日学老师。他们从前整天在外面玩耍,我很是难过。所以我在家里开了主日学。敞开的门的SSTT课程是我参与的第一个培训,我从2016年开始参加培训至今(2018年2月),我在培训中学到了服侍和教导孩子的新知识。我特别重视有关道具和动作的课程,以及让学生参与课堂活动,例如带动他们查阅经文。以前,老师只是亲自读圣经给他们听。现在,他们已经可以分辨旧约和新约了。我希望这培训能继续下去,我渴望学到更多,这样才能引导孩子们走向更好的明天。”

--亚齐省一位主日学老师,44岁的商贩和母亲霍美达

“我了解到,作为一名主日学教师意味着我必须愿意牺牲时间和金钱。举例说,我已经不介意掏钱买小礼物作为鼓励孩子的奖励。平日我也会开放家庭,让他们来问功课。我希望他们能成为敬畏神、尊敬父母和他人的好人。”

--亚齐省一位35岁的母亲、农妇莱尼,自2015年起担任主日学老师

“从前我满怀热情地服侍孩子,却缺乏技能。培训让我懂得如何为每次聚会设计主题和目标。此外,我更从主日学老师的角色中找到了新的含义——塑造下一代。感谢敞开的门的服侍。我知道你们是付上代价来这里的,请你们继续为印尼的孩子坚持这善工。他们是我们必须夺回的阵地。”

--亚齐省的28岁小学和主日学老师艾嘉

祷告事项:

  • 主日学老师能继续在教会中应用从培训中学到的知识和技能。
  • 求主把热情、精力和爱心赐给所有老师,使他们在一切处境中都能耐心带领和教导孩子。
  • 有更多教会愿意分配更多资源给儿童事工,供应教学工具和主日学老师的培训。
  • 孩子们能在信仰中坚定成长,并成为家庭、学校和社区的祝福。

---

世界各地受逼迫的基督徒十分需要你的同行和支持。请帮助他们,与他们一起在逼迫之地继续持守信仰,为主兴起发光。

订阅「祷告提醒」:您将会定期收到受逼迫教会的最新消息和祷告事项。

捐献:让受逼迫的教会得到实际支援