NIGER

50

Year: 2020
World Watch List: 50
Score: 60
Leader: Mahamadou Issoufou President
Population: 23,177,000
Christian: 62,200
Main Religion: Islam
Government: Unitary semi-presidential republic
Source of Persecution: Islamic Oppression
In cooperation with local partners and churches, Open Doors supports the church in Niger through:
  • Equipping and training
  • Socio-economic development projects
  • Caring for new believers
  • Emergency relief

“I thought persecution was something that happens elsewhere, like Nigeria, Iran, or Egypt. But now I realize it is in my room, even under my bed.”

– A Christian in Niger

Source of persecution: Islamic oppression / Religious nationalism

Convert, die, or flee
In Niger, religion is understood to be a private matter, but that is starting to change. There are various Islamist groups active in Niger who speak out against Christianity publicly and threaten Christians. Christianity is seen as a foreign religion of “infidels” that does not belong in Niger. They basically give Christians three choices: convert to Islam, die, or flee.

Timed attacks at churches
Niger had in the past been, more or less, spared violent Islamic militancy and the church was not a main target. However, the country has come under a series of attacks by militants, especially in the areas bordering Nigerian and Mali. Christians are watched, and face being attacked in churches and being targeted for kidnap and assault. Church meetings have to be conducted with great caution. Pastors and church leaders have had to flee to larger cities for their safety. There were several attacks at churches that were timed to occur when there was a service happening.

Made to renounce Christ
The families of converts from Islam try to make them renounce Christianity by threats or use of force. Radical imams would instigate the community to attack and chase away converts, as well as any Christians supporting them. Therefore, believers usually choose to go underground and live their new faith in secret. Some even decide to leave the country.

Please pray:

  • There are thousands of internally displaced people (IDPs) in Niger because of Boko Haram’s attacks, among them are many Christians. Pray that the IDPs receive the food and basic necessities that they need.
  • For the secret believers who have to hide their faith, that they are able to still find ways to meet other Christians, so that they can mature in Christ.
  • That the Lord will strengthen the faith of His people in Niger as they face such hostile persecution. Pray that they will not succumb to the pressure, but will hold on the hope we have in Jesus Christ.

Image Gallery

Related News

Sub-Saharan Africa And The Coronavirus: “Your Prayer Is The Most Effective Weapon To Reach Out To Persecuted Believers”

Boko Haram violence is forcing people in Cameroon to flee While many countries around the world are in the midst of or...

Burkina Faso: A Series Of Attacks On Christians

Pastor Tindano (l) and Deacon Lankoandé (r) In the early hours of 11 February, the deacon of the Evangelical...

Pray for Church as Boko Haram Attacks in Chad

Boys have a discussion in the shade of a tree in southern Chad Boko Haram attacks outside of Nigeria are increasing,...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

尼日尔

50
尼日尔

我们与当地的伙伴和教会合作,借助以下事工来坚固尼日尔基督徒:

  • 装备和训练信徒
  • 社会及经济发展
  • 照顾新信徒
  • 紧急援助

“我认为逼迫是发生在其他地方的事情,比如尼日利亚、伊朗或埃及。但现在我意识到它在我的房间里,甚至在我的床下。”

—尼日尔基督徒

 

逼迫来源:伊斯兰压迫 / 宗教民族主义

改信、死亡或逃亡
在尼日尔,宗教被理解为一件私事,但这种情况正在开始改变。该国活跃着各种各样的伊斯兰组织,公开反对基督教,并威胁基督徒。基督教被视为不属于尼日尔的「异教徒」的外国宗教。人们基本上给基督徒三种选择:返回伊斯兰教、死亡或逃亡。

选定时间袭击教会
尼日尔在过去,或多或少地避免了伊斯兰的暴力袭击,教会也不是主要目标。然而,该国遭受了一系列武装分子的袭击,特别是在尼日利亚和马里边境地区。基督徒受到监视,面对在教会里受袭,成为被绑架和殴打的目标。教会聚会必须非常小心地进行。牧师和教会领袖为了自身安全,不得不逃到大城市。教会曾数次受袭,袭击时间都是选定在教会举行聚会的时候。

迫使放弃基督
穆斯林归主者的家人试图通过威胁或使用武力使他们放弃基督教。激进的伊玛目会煽动小区攻击和赶走归主者,以及任何支持他们的基督徒。因此,信徒通常会选择隐藏起来,秘密地践行他们的新信仰。有些人甚至决定离开这个国家。

代祷事项:

  • 由于博科圣地的袭击,尼日尔有成千上万境内流离失所者,其中包括许多基督徒。祷告他们能够得到所需要的食物和基本必需品。
  • 那些必须隐藏信仰的秘密信徒能够找到方法与其他基督徒聚集,好让他们在基督里长大成熟。
  • 尼日尔信徒正遭受敌对逼迫,求主坚定祂百姓的信心,不会屈服于压力,并坚守我们在基督耶稣里的盼望。

图片集

相关消息

你的支持是尼日尔信徒祈祷的答案

八月的头两个星期,尼日尔的合作伙伴前往4个地点向155个家庭分发了疫情救援包,受惠者包括许多寡妇、孤儿、穆斯林归主者和农村牧师。每个家庭收到几袋玉米、大米和豆子,还有钱用来支付诸如药品和衣物之类的必需品。

撒哈拉以南非洲和新冠病毒:您的祈祷是触及受逼迫信徒心灵的最有效武器

博科圣地暴力迫使喀麦隆群众逃走 虽然世界上许多国家正处于或正开始摆脱新冠病毒疫情的最严重阶段,但撒哈拉以南非洲各国才刚刚开始感受到它的影响——许多受影响的国家都是基督徒遭受最严重逼迫的地方。...

布基纳法索:对基督徒接二连三的袭击

奥马尔牧师(左);兰科安德执事(右) 2月11日淩晨,布基纳法索东北部塞巴(Sebba)的(Evangelical...

2020 全球守望名单 地图

(A3 PDF)
免费下载