NEPAL

32

Year: 2020
World Watch List: 32
Score: 64
Leader: President Bidhya Devi Bhandari
Population: 29 million
Christian: 1.2 million
Main Religion: Hinduism
Government: Federal Parliamentary Republic
Source of Persecution: Religious Nationalism
In cooperation with local partners and churches, Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Nepal through:
  • Bibles and Christian literature distribution
  • Emergency aid relief
  • Socio-economic development
  • Literacy classes
  • Legal assistance

”In spite of my struggles, I believed God was with me and was still answering my prayers. Even though I was despised and kept at a distance by my relatives, I felt God’s presence in my life. Only because of His strength, I was able to overcome all those difficulties.”

– Komal, a Christian widow in Nepal with four children

Source of persecution: Religious nationalism

Unrelenting attacks
Since its first entry into the 2018 World Watch List, Christians in Nepal have been experiencing intense persecution for their faith, primarily driven by radical Hindu groups who want Nepal to be a Hindu state again, just like their neighbour India. These groups have close ties with the Hindutva groups in India. So far, they have not been able to achieve their goal, but they have not relented in their attack on Christians and the church. Believers are threatened, harassed, and beaten, causing some to flee their homes and villages. Christians who are active in evangelism are especially targeted.

Remarkable growth of the church
According to its Constitution, Nepal is a secular state and religious freedom is guaranteed, which means people can practice their religion and culture freely. However, the same Constitution prohibits conversion from one religion to another, as well as leading someone else to convert. Christian non-governmental organisations (NGOs) are accused of “unethical conversion”. They have to apply for approval for all projects, and any that local authorities deem to be “proselytising” will be banned.

Since the country become a secular state in 2008, the number of Christians in Nepal has grown remarkably, especially among the lower social strata groups. Believers from a Hindu background make up the largest group of Christians – they also face the harshest persecution as their families would also put pressure on them.


Please pray:

  • Pray for protection and endurance for new believers when members of their own family turn on them, often throwing them out of the family home.
  • For Christians who are isolated in their faith and have to worship in secret because of opposition from their families. Pray that they will find fellowship of other Christians.
  • Thank God for believers who continue sharing the gospel despite the restrictions. Pray for the protection of those who have been arrested for doing so, and that they will be dealt with compassionately by the justice system.

Image Gallery

Related News

Nepal: Persecution Is Increasing – But So Is Faith

Image: A woman in the Adult Literacy Project in Nepal which is aimed to provide basic education to Christians from...

A Dark Reality: Christian Women in 73 Countries Face Hidden Persecution Every Day (Part 2: Gendered Persecution by Country)

While our research for the 2019 World Watch List shows that gendered persecution is particularly prevalent in Egypt,...

Nepal: A Jump in Persecution

A Nepalese church service Nepal didn’t feature on the World Watch List in 2017. However, this year the country is...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

尼泊尔

32

年份: 2020
全球守望名单: 32
得分: 64
领袖: 比迪娅·戴维·班达里总统
人口: 2994 万
基督徒: 127 万
主要宗教: 印度教
政府: 联邦议会共和国
主要逼迫来源: 宗教民族主义

敞开的门与当地的伙伴和教会合作,借着以下事工坚固尼泊尔受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 分发圣经及基督教书刊
  • 紧急经济援助
  • 社会经济发展项目
  • 识字班
  • 法律援助

“尽管有挣扎,我仍然相信神与我同在,并仍在回答我的祈祷。即使我被亲戚鄙视和疏远,但我仍感觉到神在我的生命中。全因为祂的力量,我才能够克服所有这些困难。”

—高曼(有4个孩子的尼泊尔基督徒寡妇)

 

逼迫来源:宗教民族主义

攻击并未减弱
尼泊尔自2018年首次进入《全球守望名单》,基督徒因信仰而受到强烈的逼迫,主要是由激进的印度教徒团体驱使,他们希望尼泊尔像邻国印度一样再次成为印度教国家。这些团体与印度的Hindutva团体有着密切的联系。到目前为止,他们还无法实现目标,但是他们并未放松对基督徒和教会的攻击。信徒受到威胁、骚扰和殴打,导致一些人逃离家园和村庄。积极传扬福音的基督徒尤其受到针对。

教会的显著增长
根据宪法,尼泊尔是世俗国家,宗教自由得到保障,这意味着人们可以自由地践行自己的宗教和文化。但是,同一宪法禁止从一种宗教改信另一种宗教,并禁止引导其他人改变宗教信仰。基督教非政府组织被指责为“不道德的归信”。他们必须为所有项目申请批准,地方当局认为是“传教”的任何项目都将被禁止。

尼泊尔自2008年成为世俗国家以来,该国的基督徒人数已显著增长,尤其是在社会底下层群体中。来自印度教背景的信徒构成了最大的基督徒群体——他们也面临最严峻的逼迫,因为家人也会对他们施加压力。


代祷事项

  • 为新信徒祈求保护和忍耐,他们被家人针对,常常被赶出家庭。
  • 基督徒在信仰上被孤立,由于家人的反对而不得不秘密地敬拜。祷告他们能与其他基督徒相交。
  • 感谢神,信徒不顾限制继续分享福音。为那些因此被捕的人祈求保护,并得到司法系统的怜悯。

图片集

相关消息

逼迫加剧了-教会也在兴起

图片:尼泊尔偏远村庄的识字班学员;该项目旨在为贫穷基督徒(特别是受到逼迫的)提供基础教育。 尼泊尔基督徒今年的处境越趋恶化,因为“刑事法典”被用来针对和指控基督徒。...

黑暗的现实:73国基督徒妇女每天面临不为人知的逼迫(第二部份:各国情况)

2019年《全球守望名单》的研究显示,针对性别逼迫的情况在埃及、埃塞俄比亚、伊拉克、哥伦比亚和中非共和国尤为普遍。我们在此可以快速了解一些国家的基督徒女性的遭遇。 埃及《全球守望名单》排列第16位...

尼泊尔:《全球守望名单》新上榜国家

尼泊尔教会的崇拜 2017年的《全球守望名单》尼泊尔并未上榜,然而,今年该国却一跃至第25位。作为世界上其中一个以印度教徒占多数的国家,对于那些选择在尼泊尔跟随耶稣的人来说,生活开始发生了变化。   ...

2020 全球守望名单 地图

(A3 PDF)
免费下载