height="a"/>

In photo:  Between Covid19 and new widowhood, Rose has no idea how she will feed  three  kids

Rose lost her husband. Then she lost her livelihood. But she hasn’t lost her faith in God. Fulani militants and Covid-19 have taken so much from Rose – but your prayers and support are giving back.

And on 7 April 2020, tragically, Rose’s husband Matthew was killed by Fulani militants.

THE DAY ROSE LOST HER HUSBAND

“I woke up feeling very positive and eager for the clinic visit,” remembers Rose – she was pregnant with their third child at the time. “I finished all my house chores and prepared a meal for my husband and daughters.”

She said goodbye to her husband and left for the trip, which would take a few days. That evening, Matthew – a pastor – and the church secretary went out on patrol. Members of the church were taking it in turns to check for any signs of an impending Fulani attack on their village.

“After the patrol, my husband was on his way back home to the children when he was shot dead,” says Rose. She returned to the village to his funeral. “Villagers brought me to the place where it happened. I saw my husband lying dead with the grave already dug. While we were waiting for the coffin to be brought, I plucked up the courage to hug him. I whispered a prayer to him and then we had to leave that place.”

Life for widows in Nigeria can be terribly hard. Supposedly, it is culturally expected that the deceased husband’s family will take care of his widow and children. In practice, this often doesn’t happen. Rose’s in-laws did worse than neglect – they confiscated Rose’s livestock, food and everything else of value. She was left empty-handed and grieving.

“Life has not been the same without him,” Rose says. “Living as a couple is helpful but now that I am alone with my kids, life has become very difficult.”

 In photo: Rose Matthew (34), lost her husband in a Fulani attack in April. Shortly after our visit with Rose, she called to let us know that her third baby was born – it was another girl! We knew that now more than ever this mother of three required help. The team quickly put together a relief package and visited Rose again. 

THE IMPACT OF CORONAVIRUS

Right at this time, another crisis came. The Nigerian government announced lockdowns to curb the spread of Covid-19. Life became even more difficult. Like many people, Rose lost any opportunity she had to make money to buy food.

“We had no food,” says Rose simply. “There was no money to buy any food. We couldn’t trade anything for money, because the markets were closed. Sometimes we go to sleep without any food.”

But Rose’s faith of God keeps her resilient and hopeful: “Today we are amongst the living ones. It’s a miracle!” How many people would have Rose’s optimism in these circumstances? She meditates on Psalm 119:11: “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” She says: “Whenever I read this Psalm, I feel so encouraged.”

Photo:  Rose and her children when OD local partners visited her after she gave birth to their third child

The church in northern and central Nigeria is sadly accustomed to caring for women who have been widowed by extremist attacks. But lockdown has greatly reduced the income of churches, and thus their ability to help vulnerable members of their community. Rose received some food for her and her children, but it was very insufficient.

EVERY HK$500 could provide a month’s relief supplies of food and soap for a family – as well as other emergency needs such as rent or medicine.

In photo: Rose and her children praying together

CHRISTIANS ARE LAST IN LINE

As has been seen in other countries, Christians are often last in line when government food and aid is distributed – often deliberately neglected by local authorities.

“We were happy when the government announced food aid for the poor. But we were left out. We received none of that food,” says Rose. “All our hopes were dashed and I decided to ration the food that we have until help comes. We still believe that help will come from somewhere.”

You can be the answer to prayers like Rose’s. Open Doors partners are courageously taking vital food, aid and financial and prayer support to vulnerable Christians who urgently need them, and has identified more than 15,000 families across Sub-Saharan Africa in urgent need of help, Nigeria has the highest level of need: 9,000 families.

The same story is echoed across many parts of Africa and Asia. It’s particularly true for believers who have converted from other faith backgrounds, and aren’t being supported by their families. And militant attacks are continuing throughout this already deeply difficult period. If we don’t help these Christians, it’s unlikely that anybody will. Our brothers and sisters need support to be the resilient voice of hope in their communities, showing the love of Jesus to those around them.

Open Doors partners were able to bring a relief package to Rose shortly after she gave birth to her third daughter. She was delighted! “I had never imagined that I would receive such gifts, but today, my faith in Christ has been strengthened. This support will enable me to care for my family,” says Rose – adding her own variation of Psalm 121:4: “Indeed, He who watches over the widows neither sleeps nor slumbers.”

PLEASE PRAY

 

  • For an end to the violent persecution of Christians in Nigeria
  • For Rose to receive God’s strength and joy as she raises her daughters, and that He enables her to provide for them
  • That Open Doors partners will be equipped to reach and serve thousands of desperate families who are last in line for Covid-19 food and aid.

Give Now to Covid-19 Emergency Fund

EVERY HK$500 could provide a month’s relief supplies of food and soap for a family – as well as other emergency needs such as rent or medicine.

height="a"/>

在新冠疫情下,寡妇露斯不知道如何养活三个孩子

露斯失去了丈夫,然后失去了生计。但是她并没有失去对神的信心。富拉尼激进分子和新冠疫情从露斯身上夺走了许多,但你的祈祷和支持给她带来了实际帮助。

2020年4月7日,露斯的丈夫马修不幸被富拉尼激进分子杀害。

露斯失去丈夫的那天

露斯回忆道:“我一早醒来感觉良好,很想去看医生。” 她当时怀着第三个孩子。“我完成了所有的家务,为丈夫和女儿们准备了一顿饭。”

她告别了丈夫,就动身出门,这次需要几天的时间。

那天晚上,马修牧师和教堂秘书出去巡逻——会友会轮流巡逻看是否有富拉尼袭击其村庄的迹象。

“巡逻结束后,我丈夫就在回家的路上被枪杀了。” 露斯回到村里参加他的葬礼。“村民把我带到事发地。我看见丈夫死了,坟墓也挖好了。当我们仍在等候棺木送来的时候,我鼓起勇气抱着他。我低声为他祈祷,然后我们不得不离开那个地方。”

尼日利亚寡妇的生活非常艰难。在文化上,已故丈夫的家人会照顾他的遗孀和子女。实际上,这通常不会发生。露斯的姻亲所做的比忽视更糟糕,他们没收了露斯的牲畜、食物和其他一切有价值的东西。她两手空空,悲痛欲绝。

露斯说:“没有了他,生活不再一样。夫妻俩一起生活很有帮助,但现在我一个人和孩子们在一起,生活变得非常困难。”

敞开的门当地伙伴探望露斯后,她诞下了第三个孩子。

新冠疫情的影响

就在这个时候,另一场危机来了。尼日利亚政府宣布封锁以遏制新冠疫情的传播。生活变得更加困难。像许多人一样,露斯失去了赚钱买食物的机会。

“我们没有食物。我们没有钱买任何食物。由于市场关闭,我们无法进行任何交易赚取金钱。有时候我们饿着去睡觉。”

但露斯对神的信心使她充满活力和希望:“今天我们仍在世上,真是奇迹!” 在这种情况下,有多少人会像露斯那样乐观呢?她默想诗篇119:11 “我将你的话藏在心里,免得我得罪你。” 她说:“每当我读到这篇诗篇,我都会感到非常鼓舞。”

 

露斯打电话告诉我们她的第三个孩子出生了,这是另一个女儿!我们知道这个时候,这个三个孩子的母亲十分需要帮助。团队迅速整理救援物资,再次探访她。

尼日利亚北部和中部的教会向来照顾那些因极端主义袭击而丧偶的妇女。但是,疫情封锁大大减少了教会的收入,从而减少了教会帮助社区弱势群体的能力。露斯和孩子们收到了一些食物,但是很不够。

每 500 港元 可以为一个家庭提供一个月的食物和肥皂,以及其他紧急救援,例如租金或药品。

露斯和孩子们一起祷告

 

基督徒“排在最后”

正如在其他国家所看到的那样,当政府分发食物和援助时,基督徒往往排在最后,被地方当局故意忽视。

“当政府宣布向穷人提供粮食援助时,我们很高兴。但我们被排除在外。我们没有收到任何食物。” 露斯说:“我们所有的希望都破灭了,我决定在救济到来之前减少消耗我们的食物。我们仍然相信,帮助会来自某个地方。”

你可以成为露斯祷告的答案

敞开的门合作伙伴正勇敢地向急需的脆弱基督徒提供重要的食物、援助、财务和祈祷支持,并已在撒哈拉以南非洲地区确认了超过 15,000 个家庭急需帮助;其中以尼日利亚的需求最大,约有 9,000 个家庭。

非洲和亚洲许多地方都出现同样的故事。对于那些从其他信仰背景下归主的信徒来说尤其如此,他们没有得到家人的支持。在这个已经非常困难的时期,激进分子的袭击仍在继续。如果我们不帮助这些基督徒,还有谁呢!我们的弟兄姐妹需要支持,才能坚韧地在他们的社区里发出充满希望的声音,向周围的人显示耶稣的爱。

露斯生下第三个女儿后不久,敞开的门伙伴就为她带去了救济金。她很高兴!“我从没想过会收到这样的礼物,但今天,我对基督的信心加强了。你们的支持将使我能够照顾家人。” 对诗篇 121:4,露斯有了新的体会:“真的!保护以色列的,也不打盹也不睡觉。”

祷告事项

  • 结束对尼日利亚基督徒的暴力逼迫
  • 露斯在养育女儿的路上领受神的力量和喜乐,并得到资源供养她们成长
  • 敞开的门合作伙伴将有能力接触并服侍成千上万的绝望家庭,他们在领取疫情救济食品和援助时,往往是排在最后。
新冠病毒疫情紧急援助

每 500 港元  可以为一个家庭提供一个月的食物和肥皂,以及其他紧急救援,例如租金或药品。