CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC

25

Year: 2020
World Watch List: 25
Score: 68
Leader: President Faustin-Archange Touadera
Population: 4.8 million
Christian: 3.5 million
Main Religion: Christianity
Government: Republic
Source of Persecution: Islamic Oppression
Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Central African Republic through:
  • Persecution preparedness
  • Enhanced discipleship training
  • Trauma care and social rehabilitation
  • Socio-economic development

“It is only by the grace of God that I am here today, not by my own strength. I thank God for protecting and sustaining me today. It has been very difficult, but we are here. We will move forward, knowing that only God can protect us. And even if death should come, I will die in the Word.”

– Pastor Zoundji, leading a congregation of 200 in the largest internally displaced people camp in CAR.

 

Source of persecution: Islamic oppression / Organised crime and corruption

7th year of fighting
The Central African Republic (CAR) has been embroiled in conflict since 2013 and most of the country is occupied by armed militia groups, responsible for a range of human-rights abuses. Despite efforts from the CAR government and the United Nations peacekeeping missions, fighting and criminal activity continue to ravage the country. Both Christian and Muslim civilians are suffering from the violence. Before the civil war began in 2013, the Christians and Muslim in CAR lived in peace with each other. But the fighting over these past few years has fundamentally changed the relationship between the two groups.

Thousands of victims
Christian leaders who have publicly denounced the violence have been threatened and church buildings have been burned and ransacked. Thousands of Christians have been displaced and are forced to live in camps after losing their homes and livelihoods. Churches that have opened their doors for those seeking refuge have also become targets of attack by militants. Young Christian women were also abducted during attacks. In the WWL2020 reporting period, at least 900 Christians were killed, 2,100 attacked, and 47 churches destroyed.

Militants that were targeting Christians have also started fighting among each other besides fighting the government, resulting in a slight drop in pressure and violence against Christians.

Even worse
In Muslim-dominated areas, the situation is even worse for Christians. Christians and churches are always under the threat of attack by ex-Seleka groups, especially those that are active in integrating believers from a Muslim background. The latter also face opposition and pressure from family members to renounce their faith if they are discovered, and are in danger from militant groups.


Please pray:

  • For the many thousands of people, the majority of them Christians enduring life in IDP camps. Pray that the Lord would be at work through his Holy Spirit and that the people will come to know God’s grace and providence intimately.
  • For the government and the peacekeeping missions to have wisdom and good governance, such that order can be restored to CAR.
  • The morale of church leaders in the north and east is very low. They have lost a lot themselves and are struggling to lead their congregations. Pray that they will be built up in the Spirit and be able to comfort others because they themselves have received comfort from the Lord.

Image Gallery

Related News

Sub-Saharan Africa And The Coronavirus: “Your Prayer Is The Most Effective Weapon To Reach Out To Persecuted Believers”

Boko Haram violence is forcing people in Cameroon to flee While many countries around the world are in the midst of or...

Cursed for Refusing Widowhood Rites

Image used for illustrative purpose only Leonie, 45, is a widow from Central African Republic’s eastern town of...

A Dark Reality: Christian Women in 73 Countries Face Hidden Persecution Every Day (Part 2: Gendered Persecution by Country)

While our research for the 2019 World Watch List shows that gendered persecution is particularly prevalent in Egypt,...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

中非共和國

25

年份: 2020
全球守望名單: 25
得分: 68
領袖: 福斯坦-阿爾尚熱·圖瓦德拉總統
人口: 482 萬
基督徒: 359 萬
主要宗教: 基督教(天主教為主)
政府: 政府共和國
主要逼迫來源: 伊斯蘭壓迫

敞開的門藉著以下事工堅固中非共和國受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 為逼迫作準備的培訓
  • 強化門徒訓練
  • 創傷護理和社會康復事工
  • 社會經濟發展項目

「我今天在這裡,不是靠自己的力量,乃是靠神的恩典。我感謝神今天保護和支持我。一直很困難,但是我們在這裡。我們將向前邁進,知道只有神才能保護我們。即使死亡來臨,我也要在聖言中死去。」

— 佐恩吉牧師(在CAR最大的境內難民營帶領200名會眾)

 

逼迫來源:伊斯蘭壓迫 / 有組織腐敗犯罪

戰鬥第七年
自2013年以來,中非共和國(CAR)一直捲入衝突之中,該國大部分地區都被武裝民兵組織佔領,這些組織對一連串侵犯人權行為負責。儘管CAR政府和聯合國維持和平部隊作出了努力,戰鬥和犯罪活動仍在破壞該國。基督徒和穆斯林平民都遭受暴力之苦。在2013年內戰開始之前,基督徒和穆斯林得以彼此和平相處。但是,過去幾年的戰鬥從根本上改變了兩個團體之間的關係。

成千上萬的受害者
公開譴責暴力的基督徒領袖受到威脅,教堂建築被燒毀和洗劫。成千上萬的基督徒流離失所,失去家園和生計後被迫住在營地。為尋求庇護者提供幫助的教會也成為武裝分子的攻擊目標。襲擊中還綁架了年輕的基督徒婦女。在2020年報告期內,至少900人被殺,2,100人遭到襲擊,47所教會被摧毀。

針對基督徒的武裝分子除了與政府作戰外,還開始彼此戰鬥,從而導致對基督徒的壓力和暴力略有下降。

情況更糟
在穆斯林主導的地區,基督徒的情况更糟。基督徒和教會常常受到「前塞雷卡」組織的攻擊威脅,特別是那些積極融合穆斯林歸主者的團體。穆斯林歸主者還面臨家人的反對和壓力,如果被發現,他們會被迫放棄信仰,並受到激進組織的威脅。


禱告事項

  • 成千上萬的民眾在國內難民營中無奈地生活,其中大多數是基督徒。求主藉著聖靈工作,使百姓更清楚地認識神的恩典和祂親切的看顧。
  • 政府和維持和平部隊有智慧和德政,讓CAR恢復秩序。
  • 北部和東部的教會領袖自己已經失去了很多,還要為領導會眾而掙扎。禱告他們在聖靈裡被建立、得安慰,好讓他們去安慰別人。

相關消息

我們可以成為朋友嗎?

失去雙腿的祖芬尼不可能成為一名優秀的足球運動員 敞開的門同工探望了中非共和國的三名男孩(祖芬尼、史蒂芬、妙費拉),他們都是2013年教堂襲擊案中的重傷者。...

撒哈拉以南非洲和新冠病毒:您的祈禱是觸及受逼迫信徒心靈的最有效武器

博科聖地暴力迫使喀麥隆群眾逃走 雖然世界上許多國家正處於或正開始擺脫新冠病毒疫情的最嚴重階段,但撒哈拉以南非洲各國才剛剛開始感受到它的影響——許多受影響的國家都是基督徒遭受最嚴重逼迫的地方。...

公然拒絕遵從傳統守寡儀式而招致詛咒

参考圖片 萊奧妮是中非共和國東部城鎮班加蘇的45歲寡婦。2017年當她的丈夫去世時,她希望從已故丈夫的家人找到一些安慰,卻被他們要求遵從傳統哀悼儀式。身為基督徒的萊奧妮公然拒絕了,最終換來了完全的疏離和孤立。...

2020 全球守望名單 地圖

(A3 PDF)
免費下載