COLOMBIA

41

Year: 2020
World Watch List: 41
Score: 62
Leader: President Iván Duque Márquez
Population: 49 million
Christian: 47.2 million
Main Religion: Christianity
Government: Republic
Source of Persecution: Organised Corruption
Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Colombia through:
  • Christian literature development and distribution
  • Children centres
  • Training
  • Socio-economic development
  • Trauma support
  • Emergency relief

“They told me in a very violent way that I and other pastors are now forbidden to pray for peace in our region, that if they knew of any prayer meetings going on, they will kill us all.”

– Pastor Andrés Galeano, an Open Doors partner in Buenaventura

 

Source of persecution: Organised corruption and crime / Ethnic antagonism / Secular intolerance

No peace despite the agreement
After the peace agreement signed between the Colombian government and rebel group FARC, other organised armed groups are fighting with the Colombian state and with each other over the areas left empty by FARC. These groups also engage in coca cultivation (for cocaine) and drug trafficking. Pastors and Christians who speak out against their criminal activities, work among youth, or are involved in defending human rights or implementing the peace agreement, even praying for it, are being threatened, harassed, extorted and even murdered. These groups attack Christians with impunity. Former members of these armed groups who abandoned their criminal life after becoming Christians also face retaliation. 16 Christians were killed in the WWL2020 reporting period. There were known for their opposition to these groups’ activities.

Significant opposition
In indigenous communities, there is a significant opposition toward Christian missionaries and indigenous converts, who, as a result, face harassment, imprisonment, physical abuse and death threats. In order to prevent the further spreading of the Christian faith, tribal leaders would use all ways to stop converts from teaching their children about the Christian faith, and ultimately expelling them from the tribe.

Radical secularism
Because of the radicalization of secularism, there is an increasing intolerance to Christian references and religious opinions in the public sphere — especially about issues concerning life, family, marriage and religious liberty — because they are considered discriminatory and “hate speech”.


Please pray:

  • May God strengthen all those who follow the gospel, even as they face death threats, and violence all the time.
  • For pastors and church leaders who are particularly targeted by the armed groups. Thank God for their courage, and pray that God will protect them and use them to achieve real peace in Colombia.
  • In northeastern Colombia, armed groups have warned churches in the region that their goal is to see all Christian churches and pastors gone from the area. Pray that leaders and believers in these areas will be strengthened in their faith and that the plans of the armed groups will not work.

Image Gallery

Related News

World Watch List 2020 Overview

From Sub-Saharan Africa to China, Christians experience high levels of persecution In Sri Lanka on Easter Sunday more...

Reuben: Child Soldier at 7, Pastor at 15

Rubén was only seven when he began training as a guerrilla fighter. He grew up in the midst of extreme poverty in...

A Faith That Moves In The Mountains (A wife, a mother, a Bible smuggler)

In the mountains of Northern Colombia, a woman and her family defy the restrictions placed on Christianity by walking...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

哥倫比亞

41

年份: 2020
全球守望名單: 41
得分: 62
領袖: 伊萬·杜克·馬爾克斯總統
人口: 4985 萬
基督徒: 4723 萬
主要宗教: 基督教(天主教為主)
政府: 共和國
主要逼迫來源: 有組織貪污

敞開的門藉著以下事工堅固哥倫比亞受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 分發和研發基督教書刊
  • 兒童中心
  • 培訓
  • 社會經濟發展項目
  • 緊急救援

「他們以非常暴力的方式告訴我,現在禁止我和其他牧師為我們地區的和平祈禱,如果他們知道有任何祈禱會在進行,他們會殺死我們所有人。」

— 安德烈斯·加萊諾牧師(敞開的門在布埃納文圖拉的伙伴)

 

逼迫來源:有組織腐敗犯罪 / 種族敵對 / 世俗主義排斥

儘管達成協議 但沒有和平
在哥倫比亞政府與反叛組織 FARC 簽署和平協定之後,其他有組織的武裝團體在 FARC 所空置的地區互相交戰,也與政府交戰。這些團體還從事古柯種植(可卡因)和毒品販運活動。牧師和基督徒大聲疾呼,反對他們的犯罪活動,在青年中工作,或參與捍衛人權或執行和平協定,甚至為和平協定祈禱;他們都受到威脅、騷擾、勒索甚至謀殺。這些武裝團體肆無忌彈地攻擊基督徒。這些團體的前成員在成為基督徒後放棄了他們的犯罪生活,也面臨報復。在2020年《全球守望名單》 報告期內,有16名基督徒被殺。他們以反對這些團體的活動而聞名。

強烈反對
在土著社區,基督教傳教士和土著信徒遭到強烈反對,他們因此遭到騷擾、監禁、身體虐待和死亡威脅。為了防止基督教信仰的進一步傳播,部落首領將採取一切方法阻止歸主者向他們的孩子傳講基督教信仰,並最終將他們趕出部落。

激進的世俗主義
由於世俗主義的激進化,公眾越來越不容忍基督徒的提法和宗教觀點,特別是有關生活、家庭、婚姻和宗教自由的問題,因為基督徒被視為具有歧視性和「仇恨言論」。


代禱事項

  • 即使時常面對死亡威脅和暴力, 哥倫比亞信徒仍然跟從福音,求主堅固他們。
  • 為武裝團體特別針對的牧師和教會領袖禱告。為他們的勇氣感謝神,求主保護他們,使用他們在哥倫比亞實現真正的和平。
  • 武裝團體警告東北部的教會,他們的目標是要看到所有基督教教會和牧師都離開該地區。禱告這些地區的領袖和信徒的信心得到加強,武裝團體的計劃不會奏效。

圖片集

相關消息

一位基督徒法官跟隨他信仰的判決

8月31日,來自哥倫比亞卡塔赫納的民事法官正式拒絕了兩名婦女提出的結婚要求。這名公務員將其基督教道德標準加於彩虹群體(LGTBI)的平等權利,據估計將受到嚴厲制裁。

哥倫比亞牧師冒著生命危險在疫情期間服侍

土著村莊裡的一位母親和她的孩子 哥倫比亞的教會領袖能夠在疫情封鎖期間自由行動,他們正在援助有需要的人,尤其是該國偏遠地區的人。 他們將自己的生命置於危險之中。在太平洋海岸的圖馬科,與委內瑞拉接壤的亞馬遜和卡塔通博等地區,他們不僅有感染病毒的危險,而且有可能受到控制這些地區的非法武裝團體的攻擊。...

《全球守望名單》2020 概述

從撒哈拉以南非洲到斯里蘭卡,基督徒承受著高度壓力 斯里蘭卡在復活節主日有三座教堂和旅館遭受襲擊,釀成250多人喪生,其中包括45名兒童;超過500人受傷。 在菲律賓南部霍洛島一個村莊的天主堂,20人遭炸彈炸死。...

2020 全球守望名單 地圖

(A3 PDF)
免費下載