INDONESIA

47

Year: 2021
World Watch List: 47
Score: 63
Leader: President Joko Widodo
Population: 272 million
Christian: 33 million
Main Religion: Islam
Government: Republic
Source of Persecution: Islamic Oppression
In cooperation with local partners and churches, Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Indonesia through:
  • Distribution of Bibles and Christian materials
  • Microloans
  • Discipleship training
  • Safe houses

Meet “Ridho”

“Even though my wife and children left me, I will faithfully follow Isa. But please pray for my wife and children, that someday, God will touch their hearts.”

Persecution type: Islamic oppression

What does persecution look like in Indonesia?

In Indonesia, the situation for Christians has been deteriorating in recent years, with Indonesian society taking on a more conservative Islamic character. Christians who grew up in a Muslim home often experience persecution from their families. However, the persecution intensity varies given the individual family and location. In many homes, families will verbally abuse their Christian family members and isolate them because of their faith. Only a small percentage of converts face physical violence for their Christian faith. 

The level of persecution also depends on the region of Indonesia where they live. In certain hot spots, like West Java or Aceh, extremist Islamic groups are strong and heavily influence society and politics. If they catch Christians evangelizing, believers could run into problems. Also, non-traditional church groups tend to experience difficulties getting permission for building churches. Even if they manage to fulfill all legal requirements (including winning court cases), the local authorities still often ignore them. 

There have been some positive developments in Indonesia. As reported by the Jakarta Post, for the first time since taking office, President Jokowi has cautiously spoken out against the difficulties believers of minority religions face when they want to set up a new place of worship.

Who is most vulnerable to persecution?

The primary hotbed of persecution in Indonesia is the province of Aceh at the northwestern tip of Sumatra—the only province governed by Shariah law. Churches endured large-scale closures in October 2015, and the building of new churches is impossible there, and very difficult in other provinces. Converts from Islam run the risk of facing severe opposition in many parts of Indonesia, but converts in Aceh probably face the strongest pressure. 

PLEASE PRAY

  • Pray for Christians who leave Islam and are heavily pressured by family and community to renounce their new faith in Jesus. Ask God to give them the support they need—as well as access to a Bible and the training to read it and grow.  

  • Pray that churches who are trying to obtain locations for worship would find favor with the government and be granted freedom to gather and worship in peace. 

  • Pray that God would give ministry leaders and volunteers the boldness and perseverance they need to both lead and serve the church in Indonesia. 

  • Pray for Christian children and teens, who often face discrimination and isolation for their faith. Ask God to give them hope, to strengthen their faith—and to know that they are not alone in Christ. 

Image Gallery

Related News

An Outsider In Southeast Asia

“They look at us Christians like outsiders. Like Hepatitis C, they say we have the ‘Double C Virus.’ Chins and Christians.”

Four Ways To Pray For The Work In Southeast Asia During Covid-19

South and Southeast Asia have been hit hard by the COVID-19 lockdowns. Factories have stopped their operations, small...

Indonesia: Sunday Service Stopped, Church Sealed And Building Permits Revoked

Image: The Surabaya Pentacostal Church front yard and gate's canopy after the bombing at May 13, 2018 Three churches...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

印度尼西亞

47

年份: 2021
全球守望名單: 47
得分: 63
領袖: 佐科·維多多總統
人口: 2.7 億
基督徒: 3319 萬
主要宗教: 伊斯蘭教
政府: 共和國
主要逼迫來源: 伊斯蘭壓迫

敞開的門與當地的伙伴和教會合作,藉著以下事工堅固印尼受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 分發聖經和基督教材料
  • 小額貸款
  • 門徒訓練
  • 安全住所

細聽「里德奧」 

「即使我的妻子和孩子離開了我,我也會忠誠地跟隨伊薩。但請為我的妻子和孩子們祈禱,希望有一天,神會感動他們的心。」

逼迫來源:伊斯蘭壓迫

在印度尼西亞逼迫的狀況

近幾年來,印尼基督徒的處境一直在惡化,印尼社會呈現出更為保守的伊斯蘭特徵。在穆斯林家庭長大的基督徒,經常遭受家人的逼迫。但是,逼迫的強度因家庭和地點的不同而異。許多家庭是口頭上虐待家中的基督徒,並將其孤立;只有一小部分歸主者因其基督教信仰而遭受身體暴力。

遭受逼迫的程度,也取決於他們居住的地區。在某些熱點地區,例如西爪哇或亞齊,極端主義的伊斯蘭團體很強大,並在很大程度上影響著社會和政治。如果他們知道基督徒傳福音,信徒可能會遇到麻煩。同樣,非傳統的教會團體在獲得建造教會的許可方面,往往會遇到困難,即使滿足了所有法律要求(包括勝訴案件),地方當局仍然經常無視他們。 

印尼出現了一些積極的事態發展。正如「雅加達郵報」報導的那樣,自從佐科維總統上任以來,他就謹慎地指出了少數派宗教信仰者,在建立新的禮拜場所時遇到的困難

最容易受逼迫的人

在印度尼西亞,逼迫的主要溫床是蘇門答臘西北端的亞齊省,這是唯一受伊斯蘭教法管轄的省份。教會在2015年10月遭受大規模關閉,在那裡新教堂的建造是不可能的,而且在其他省份也非常困難。來自伊斯蘭教的歸主者,有可能在印尼不同地方面臨嚴重反對,但在亞齊的歸主者面臨最大的壓力。

代禱事項

  • 為那些離開伊斯蘭教的基督徒禱告,他們受到家庭和社區壓力要放棄對耶穌的新信仰。求主給他們所需要的支持-例如獲得聖經,學習如何讀經及成長的培訓。

  • 那些試圖獲得禮拜場所的教會能夠得到政府的支持,被賦予自由和平聚會和禮拜的權利。

  • 求主賜給事工領袖和信徒們以勇氣和毅力來領導和服侍印尼的教會。

  • 為基督徒兒童和青少年禱告,他們經常因信仰而受到歧視和孤立。求主賜他們盼望,增強他們的信心,並知道他們在基督裡並不孤單。

相關消息

東南亞一位不受歡迎的外人

「他們把我們基督徒看為外人,就像丙型肝炎[Hepatitis C]一樣,他們說欽族人和基督徒有『雙重C病毒』」。

東南亞疫情下禱告的四方面

南亞和東南亞受到新冠病毒疫情封鎖的重創。工廠停止運營,小型企業倒閉,來自穆斯林背景的基督徒被迫放棄信仰,以換取食物和基本用品。敞開的門在東南亞的伙伴山姆*弟兄說:「當你看到人們僅僅因為沒有食物而回到過去的信仰時,確實令人痛心。」 在疫情期間,你可以在四方面為敞開的門在東南亞的工作禱告。 1....

印尼:主日崇拜被停、教堂被封、建築許可證被吊銷

圖片:2018年5月3間教堂受炸彈襲擊,這是泗水五旬節教堂前院和大門遇襲後情況 今年7月以來,印尼的侵犯宗教自由的事件增多,三座教堂被迫關閉。印尼《全球守望名單》排列第30位;主要逼迫来源:伊斯蘭壓迫。...

2021 全球守望名單 地圖

(A3 PDF)
免費下載