IRAQ

13

Year: 2019
World Watch List: 13
Score: 79
Leader: Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi
Population: 39.3 million
Christian: 225,000
Main Religion: Islam
Government: Parliamentary Democracy
Source of Persecution: Islamic Oppression
In cooperation with local partners and churches, Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Iraq through:
  • Bible and Christian literature distribution
  • Biblical, trauma counselling, and leadership training
  • Socio-economic development
  • Structural aid
  • Emergency aid relief
Source of persecution: Islamic oppression / Organised crime and corruption

Islamic State ideology still there
With the defeat of Islamic State (IS) in 2017, a number of displaced Christians have returned to their homes. However, there are many others who are still seeking a better life overseas as they do not have hope for a good future in Iraq. Even though IS is no longer a major problem, their ideology of an Islamic caliphate has influenced the local population. There are also other radical Islamic militants still active in the country, and they continue to harm and threaten Christians. Hate-speech and calls for social boycotts against Christians by Muslim leaders are common. Thousands of homes belonging to Christians who fled IS or other militant groups have been illegally seized by criminal groups, politicians, and religious leaders.

Almost extinct
Before the US invasion of Iraq in 2003, Iraq was home to one of the largest Christian communities of the Middle East. Christians have lived here for two millennia but are currently on the verge of extinction. They used to be tolerated more by the society, but opposition to their way of life has increased greatly in recent years. Due to the ongoing emigration of Christians, some churches are lacking leaders as church leaders are particularly at risk of persecution.

Persecution from their families
Believers from a Muslim background suffer most persecution from their extended families, clan leaders, and communities. They face beatings, torture, and being expelled from their homes. They keep their new faith a secret, as it might even cost them their lives.

Gender-specific persecution
In some parts of the country, even Baghdad, Christian women have to veil themselves like their Muslim counterparts, or they might be harassed, pelted with stones, kidnapped, or even killed. Female believers from a Muslim background face house arrest, sexual abuse, and death. Their families can impose a travel ban on them to prevent them from leaving the country, and they cannot marry male Christians.

Male believers find it a struggle to sustain their families. They are also at particular risk of receiving death threats or actually being killed for their faith.

PLEASE PRAY

  • Praise God that there are reports of many coming to Christ in the southern parts of Iraq. Pray that God will provide good shepherds for these new believers and satisfy their hunger to know Him.
  • For wisdom and clarity for displaced Christians who are still unsure about where they should live.
  • For pastors and priests ministering in Iraq, that they will have the grace and strength to be living examples of Christ to their flock, and also to their enemies.

Image Gallery

Related News

14 Prayer Points for Iraq

Worker in the street of Qaraqosh painting the sidewalk During the brutal attacks of ISIS in Iraq, hundreds of...

Clothed With Strength and Dignity

Women are commonly seen as the ‘weaker sex’, vulnerable and in need of protection. But many women in the persecuted...

Iraq: Faith Amid Hopelessness

Yousif at the door of Saint-Mary al-Tahira Church"IS can destroy our building but they can never destroy...

World Watch List

2019 Map
Download

伊拉克

13

年份: 2019
全球守望名單: 13
得分: 79
領袖: 阿迪勒·阿卜杜勒-邁赫迪
人口: 3934 萬
基督徒: 22 萬
主要宗教: 伊斯蘭教
政府: 議會民主制
主要逼迫來源: 伊斯蘭壓迫

敞開的門與當地的伙伴和教會合作,藉著以下事工堅固伊拉克受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 分發聖經和基督教書刊
  • 聖經培訓、創傷輔導及領袖培訓
  • 社區經濟發展
  • 結構性援助
  • 緊急援助
逼迫來源:伊斯蘭壓迫 / 有組織腐敗犯罪

伊斯蘭國的意識形態仍然存在

隨著伊斯蘭國2017年戰敗,不少流離失所的基督徒重返家園。然而,有更多人試圖在海外過更好的生活,因為他們對伊拉克有更好的未來不存希望。雖然伊斯蘭國不再是一個主要問題,但他們提倡的伊斯蘭哈里發的意識形態仍在影響當地人。還有其他激進伊斯蘭武裝組織在該國活躍、傷害和威嚇基督徒。穆斯林領袖常常發出憎恨的言論,呼籲社會杯葛基督徒。由於基督徒要逃避伊斯蘭國和其他激進組織,成千上萬屬於基督徒的房屋被犯罪組織、政客和宗教領袖非法佔據。

基督徒幾乎絕跡

在2003年美國入侵伊拉克之前,伊拉克擁有中東地區最大的基督徒群體。基督徒在這裡生活了2,000年,但現在幾乎絕跡。從前社會對他們比較包容,但近年來,反對他們的生活方式者大大增加。由於基督徒不斷移居海外,一些教會缺乏領袖,因為教會領袖特別容易受到逼迫。

來自家人的逼迫

穆斯林歸主者所受的逼迫,大多數來自親戚、宗族領袖和社區。他們會被毆打、虐待,以及被趕出家園。他們很多時都要將新信仰保密,因為這可能會讓他們喪命。

針對性別的逼迫

在伊拉克一些地區(甚至是巴格達),女性基督徒必須像穆斯林婦女一樣蒙頭,否則會被騷擾、擲石、綁架,甚至殺害。女性穆斯林歸主者可能會被軟禁、強暴,或者殺害。她們的家人會禁止她們外遊或出國,也不會讓她們嫁給基督徒。

男性信徒很難維持生計,也特別容易受到死亡威嚇或因信仰而被殺害。

代禱事項

  • 感謝主,因為有報告說伊拉克南部有很多人歸主。求神為這些初信者提供良牧,滿足他們渴慕認識神的心。
  • 求神賜智慧給流離失所、不確定自己應該在哪裡定居的基督徒,讓他們有明確的看見。
  • 為那些在伊拉克服侍的牧師和神父禱告,求神讓他們靠著恩典和力量,向群羊及他們的敵人為基督作活的見證。

圖片集

相關消息

為什麼基督徒對伊拉克教會抱有希望

圖像:在聖馬竇修院的日落 貝芙·羅斯(敞開的門澳洲同工)於伊拉克實地考察後撰文 伊拉克曾是150萬基督徒的家園,但由於戰爭、逼迫和大規模移民,現時只剩下23萬基督徒。根據2019年《全球守望名單》在排列世上作基督徒最困難的50個國家中,歷史悠久的伊拉克排列第13位。...

為伊拉克代禱的14個要點

工人在克拉克斯的人行道上油漆 伊斯蘭國在伊拉克的殘酷襲擊中,數以十萬計基督徒被殺、被奴役並被迫逃離家園。五年後,情況不同了,但他們依然面對各種艱辛和挑戰,十分需要主內弟兄姐妹的代禱和支持。以下是為伊拉克代禱的14個要點。...

全球守望名單

2019年 地圖
免費下載