KAZAKHSTAN

35

Year: 2020
World Watch List: 35
Score: 64
Leader: President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev
Population: 18.5 million
Christian: 4.8 million
Main Religion: Islam
Government: Republic
Source of Persecution: Dictatorial Paranoia
Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Central Asia through:
  • Literature Distribution
  • Bible, Children and Youth, and Vocational Training
  • Women’s Ministry
  • Advocacy and Awareness Training (SSTS)
  • Social-Economic Development
  • Emergency aid relief

”Because we live in close communities every person is under control. If somebody changes his faith it’s a betrayal of his community. They say, ‘You started to believe in the Russian God and many problems are coming’. So, that’s why they kicked me out of the community.”

– Bahtor (pseudonym), a Christian in Kazakhstan

Source of persecution: Dictatorial paranoia / Islamic oppression

Illegal and suppressed
All religious activities outside of the state’s control are illegal and suppressed. Churches have to be registered in order to meet for worship, but it is difficult to get registered, so they meet secretly. These meetings are frequently raided, and those present will be arrested, fined or imprisoned. Distributing Christian literature or sharing their faith can also result in fines. At least 19 Christians were arrested in the WWL2020 reporting period.

Seen as a tool
Officially, Kazakhstan is a democratic and secular nation. Like the other Central Asian countries, 70 years under as part of the Soviet Union has deeply influenced the government. It seeks to restrict all religions, including Christianity and Islam. Islam, because of the threat of militant groups, and Christianity as it is seen as a tool of the West to destroy the current regime.

The persecuted but growing church
The country has the largest number of Christians in the region, due to the presence of Russian Orthodox Christians in the northern provinces. They make up 90% of the Christian population, while indigenous Kazakh Christians number around 15,000. Just 30 years ago, this number was practically zero.

Russian Orthodox churches experience the least problems from the government because they do not usually attempt to make contact with the Kazakh population. It is the indigenous Christians with a Muslim background who are bearing the brunt of persecution both at the hands of the state and from family, friends and community, particularly in the countryside. Believers often keep their faith secret. But those who are discovered may be locked up by their families for long periods, beaten and may eventually be expelled from their communities. Local mullahs also preach against them.


Please pray:

  • For protection for Kazakh Christian converts, and also that they will stand strong in the faith.
  • For wisdom for pastors and leaders who are leading secret churches and believers from a Muslim background, to know how they can build them up in the faith.
  • That the government authorities or Muslim relatives of Christians who are persecuting the church will have an encounter with Jesus themselves and come to know Him as Lord and Saviour.

Image Gallery

Related News

A Glimpse into a Forbidden Church

In Central Asia, government officials suppress all Christian activity, monitoring and arresting anyone showing “suspicious” religious behaviour.

But hidden away from the watchful eyes of authorities, an illegal church service is taking place. And it is full of children.

Central Asia: Pray For Christian Family Left On The Street

Uzbekistan police controls the streets during Covid-19 Pray for the Christian couple who with their children and some...

The Church Began In A House

A house church meeting, believers listening to one person sharing  “When the day of Pentecost came, they were all...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

哈薩克

35

年份: 2020
全球守望名單: 35
得分: 64
領袖: 卡瑟姆若馬爾特·托卡耶夫總統
人口: 1859 萬
基督徒: 483 萬
主要宗教: 伊斯蘭教
政府: 共和國
主要逼迫來源: 獨裁政權

敞開的門藉著以下事工堅固中亞受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 分發基督教書刊
  • 聖經、兒童及青少年,以及職業培訓
  • 婦女事工
  • 發聲及關注培訓(勝過風暴)
  • 社會經濟發展項目
  • 緊急經濟援助

「因為我們生活在一個緊密的社區裡,每個人都受到控制。如果有人改變了信仰,那就是對他社區的背叛。他們說:『你開始相信俄羅斯的神,很多問題都來了。』因此,這就是他們將我踢出社區的原因。」

— 巴達(化名) ,哈薩克基督徒

 

逼迫來源:獨裁政權 / 伊斯蘭壓迫

非法和壓制
國家控制範圍之外的一切宗教活動都是非法的,都受到壓制。教會必須註冊才能聚集敬拜,但很難註冊,因此信徒秘密聚會。這些聚會經常遭到突擊搜查,出席的人將被逮捕、罰款或監禁。分發基督教書刋或分享信仰也可能導致罰款。在2020年《全球守望名單》報告期內,至少有19名基督徒被捕。

被視為工具
哈薩克理論上是一個民主和世俗的國家。像其他中亞國家一樣,在蘇聯統治下的70年間對政府產生了深遠的影響。政府試圖限制所有宗教,包括基督教和伊斯蘭教。由於激進組織的威脅,伊斯蘭教和基督教被視為西方摧毀當前政權的工具。

受逼迫但正在增長的教會
哈薩克是該地區基督徒人數最多的國家,由於北部省份有俄羅斯東正教信徒;他們佔基督徒人口的90%,而哈薩克本土基督徒約有15,000。就在30年前,這個數字幾乎為零。

俄羅斯東正教教會遇到政府方面的問題最少,因為他們通常不會接觸哈薩克人。本地的穆斯林歸主者首當其衝受到國家和家庭、朋友和社區的逼迫,尤其是在鄉間。信徒經常把自己的信仰保密。但是,被發現的人可能會被家人長期關押、毆打,最終可能被趕出社區。當地毛拉也宣講對抗言論。


代禱事項

  • 為哈薩克歸主信徒祈求保護,讓他們的信心堅定。
  • 為那些領導秘密教會和穆斯林歸主者的牧師和領袖祈求智慧,懂得如何建立他們的信心。
  • 逼迫基督徒的穆斯林親戚和政府當局將與耶穌相遇,並認識耶穌為主和救主。

相關消息

被禁教會一瞥

在中亞,政府官員鎮壓所有基督徒活動,監視和逮捕任何表現出「可疑」宗教行為的人。但是,隱藏在當局的監視之下,有一個秘密的教會崇拜正在進行,而且充滿了孩子。

中亞:為留落街頭的基督徒家庭禱告

為一對基督徒夫婦禱告,他們帶著孩子和一些親戚留落街頭。馬馬德*一家人2年前在鄰國工作時信主。在疫情大流行之前,馬馬德、他的妻子阿美扎*和他們的一個孩子回到他們的祖國更換護照,另外兩個孩子被留在他們工作的國家的親戚家裡。

教會從一個房子開始

家庭教會的秘密聚會 「五旬節到了,門徒都聚集在一處。忽然,從天上有響聲下來,好像一陣大風吹過,充滿了他們所坐的屋子,又有舌頭如火焰顯現出來,分開落在他們各人頭上。他們就都被聖靈充滿,按著聖靈所賜的口才說起別國的話來。」使徒行傳 2:1-4...

2020 全球守望名單 地圖

(A3 PDF)
免費下載