MEXICO

39

Year: 2019
World Watch List: 39
Score: 61
Leader: President Enrique Pena Nieto
Population: 130 million
Christian: 125.3 million
Main Religion: Christianity
Government: Federal Republic
Source of Persecution: Organised Corruption

In cooperation with local partners and churches, Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Mexico through:

  • Training
  • Socio-economic development
  • Advocacy
Source of persecution: Organised corruption and crime / Ethnic antagonism

Authorities collude with criminal groups

The country of Mexico is flooded with criminal groups. The government is ineffective in dealing with these groups, and many among them are colluding with the criminals. These criminal groups consider Christians a threat to their illegal undertakings as Christians would oppose their activities, provide anti-drug trafficking support, and encourage people not to get involved with them. Several believers, especially church leaders, have been killed. They also face close monitoring, threats, extortion, kidnapping, and robbery. Because of the insecurity, churches changed the times of their services and other activities, and church leaders no longer go out alone when carrying their duties. Some families have had to separate when the danger of being attacked or being forcefully recruited into the groups is high, and they have to send their children away.

Christianity not allowed

Over 20% of the population is indigenous, mainly located in rural areas. They are self-governing communities according to their traditional laws and customs which do not allow other religions like Christianity. Indigenous people who do become Christians are pressurised into renouncing their faith through fines, isolation, denial of basic community services, imprisonment, beatings, destruction of their property, and expelling them. They are not allowed to pass on their Christian faith to their children – parents who disobey may be separated from their children.

PLEASE PRAY

  • For the hearts of those involved in drug cartels, that they would come to know Jesus.
  • For indigenous Christians who are denied access to basic social services and resources, imprisoned, or displaced. Pray for God’s provision and grace. Pray for the government in Chiapas, Hidalgo and Oaxaca specifically.
  • Mexico is one of the most violent countries in the world. Pray for physical protection for persecuted believers in Mexico.

Image Gallery

Related News

In Mexico, Pastor Braces for Death but God Does the Miraculous

Photos captured in border town of Juarez in Mexico. Across the border is El Paso in the USA. In Mexico (#39 on the...

10 Of The Top Persecutors of Christians Around the World Today

(Image used for illustrative purpose only) The persecution of Christians is increasing year over year. Across the...

7 Vacation Paradises That Are No Holiday for Christians

This beautiful world God created is full of surprises to discover, hidden beauty to explore and unique people to meet....

World Watch List

2019 Map
Download

墨西哥

39
墨西哥

敞開的門與當地的伙伴和教會合作,藉著以下事工堅固墨西哥受逼迫的基督徒:

  • 培訓
  • 社會經濟發展項目
  • 發聲
逼迫來源:有組織腐敗犯罪 /種族敵對

當局與犯罪團伙勾結

墨西哥這個國家充斥著犯罪團伙。政府未能有效打擊,許多政府官員更與罪犯勾結。這些犯罪集團認為基督徒對其非法行為構成威脅,因基督徒會反對他們的犯罪活動,又支持禁毒及打擊販毒活動,並鼓勵人們不要參與其中。一些信徒,尤其是教會領袖已經被殺害。他們還面臨嚴密監控、威脅、敲詐、綁架和搶劫。基於安全問題,教會改變了聚會和活動時間,教會領袖工作時也不再獨自外出。一些人為了逃避襲擊的危險而被迫家庭分離;孩子也要被送到遠方以免被強行招募加入犯罪團伙。

基督信仰遭到禁止

墨西哥人口超過20%是原住民,大多數居住於農村地區。他們根據傳統法律和習俗進行社區自治,他們不容忍基督教這樣的其他宗教。原住民若成為基督徒會面對不少的壓力,迫使他們放棄信仰,諸如罰款、孤立、剝奪接受基本社區服務的權利以及驅逐。歸主者不可以把基督信仰傳給孩子,若是違反禁令,他們就可能被迫與孩子隔離。

代禱事項

  • 求主感動罪犯的心,使他們得以認識耶穌。
  • 有些原住民基督徒無法獲得基本公共資源和服務、被監禁或流離失所,求主供應和恩待他們。特別為恰帕斯州、伊達爾戈州、瓦哈卡州的政府禱告。
  • 墨西哥是世界上暴力最嚴重的國家之一。為遭受逼迫的基督徒祈求人身安全和保護。

圖片集

相關消息

墨西哥:新冠病毒為基督徒帶來額外壓力

參考圖片:墨西哥一個基督徒家庭 乾淨水和衛生設施,對於抵抗新冠病毒傳播至關重要。但對墨西哥許多遭受逼迫的基督徒來說,保持有效的基本防疫幾乎是不可能的。 在墨西哥,逼迫基督徒的普遍方法,是切斷包括水和污水的基本服務。現在,該國有23,000多新冠肺炎病例,基督徒少數群體尤其脆弱。...

基督徒兒童目睹父母遭受逼迫

墨西哥基督徒兒童 兒童通常是第一個親眼目睹基督徒在農村社區遭受騷擾和逼迫的人。他們看到逼迫發生在親朋好友,甚至自己的父母身上。 羅茜去到墨西哥南部恰帕斯州Yatzil3 Lagunas的監獄時年僅12歲;她去探望母親羅薩里奧。羅薩里奧和其他基督徒為了對耶穌的信仰而被捕。...

墨西哥牧師預備赴死,但主施神蹟

墨西哥邊境小鎮華雷斯城;跨越邊境就是美國德州的埃爾帕索。...

全球守望名單

2019年 地圖
免費下載