SUDAN

7

Year: 2020
World Watch List: 07
Score: 85
Leader: Prime Minister Abdalla Hamdok
Population: 42.5 million
Christian: 1.9 million
Main Religion: Islam
Government: Federal Republic (currently under provisional government)
Source of Persecution: Islamic Oppression
In cooperation with local churches and partners, Open Doors supports the persecuted church in Sudan through:
  • Discipleship training
  • Trauma counselling
  • Theological training
  • Community development projects
  • Christian literature distribution

“It was good to pray for each other and share our concerns. I am determined to continue trusting the Lord, even if things are uncertain. The stories I heard from other ladies strengthened me to carry on. Please pray for me and all of us in the Nuba Mountains.”

– Seida, a Sudanese Christian widow

 

Source of persecution: Islamic oppression / Dictatorial Paranoia

A new government
In April 2019, Sudan president Omar al-Bashir was overthrown following months of protests by the people. A new government was established with a new prime minister in place. However, despite the power-sharing agreement, the country’s current political chaos has left Christians in limbo. Ethnic tension — Arab vs. ethnic African — and the Muslim/Christian landscape complicate matters. The secession of South Sudan in 2011 also made Christians further vulnerable as they have become less in number and the Islamic conservatives in Sudan push for a Sharia state.

The road to Sharia
Before his removal from office, the government had demolished a number of churches as part of the application of full Sharia law, which al-Bashir had vowed to implement following the secession of South Sudan. The government also arrested or intimidated many Christian leaders. Following his downfall, Sudan’s score for the World Watch List dropped merely 2 points. There are still many in Sudan who are fighting for the country to be a Sharia state.

Ethnic cleansing
Blasphemy laws are used to persecute Christians – many are afraid to share their faith for fear that they will be accused of ‘acts that encourage apostasy against Islam’. Leaving Islam to follow Jesus is illegal and can be punished with the death sentence, and believers from Muslim backgrounds often keep their faith completely secret. Some have been put under house arrest by their families when their new faith was discovered.

In the Nuba Mountains, thousands of Christians have been killed and displaced as the government seeks to ethnically cleanse the region of minority groups.


Please pray:

  • For the new government – a transitional council headed by Prime Minister Abdalla Hamdock, that it will be one that will treat all Sudanese equally and justly, regardless of ethnicity and religion.
  • For wisdom and endurance for the Sudanese church in the midst of the uncertainty in their country.
  • Many lives were lost during the protests in 2019. Pray for comfort for those who are still in mourning, and that they will seek peace in Christ Jesus.

Related News

Sudan Scraps Death Penalty for Leaving Islam

Sudan's government has scrapped the death penalty for leaving Islam. An answer to prayer for Christians, but some...

Sub-Saharan Africa And The Coronavirus: “Your Prayer Is The Most Effective Weapon To Reach Out To Persecuted Believers”

Boko Haram violence is forcing people in Cameroon to flee While many countries around the world are in the midst of or...

Called Out Of Rebellion Into Christ

An example of why we should never stop praying for our persecutors Youssouf* (29) is from a country in the Sahel. He...

2020 World Watch List Map

(A3 PDF)
Download yours now

蘇丹

7

年份: 2020
全球守望名單: 07
得分: 85
領袖: 臨時政府
人口: 4251 萬
基督徒: 196 萬
主要宗教: 伊斯蘭教
政府: 共和國
主要逼迫來源: 伊斯蘭壓迫

敞開的門與當地的伙伴和教會合作,藉著以下事工堅固蘇丹受逼迫的教會:

  • 門徒訓練
  • 創傷輔導
  • 神學訓練
  • 社區發展計劃
  • 分發基督教書刊

「我們彼此禱告,分擔憂慮是十分好的。即使事情不確定,我仍決心繼續信靠神。我從其他女士那裡聽到的故事,使我堅強地繼續前進。請為我和努巴山區的所有人祈禱。」

— 塞達(蘇丹基督徒寡婦)

 

逼迫來源:伊斯蘭壓迫 / 獨裁政權

新政府
2019年4月,在人民抗議數月之後,蘇丹總統奧馬爾·巴希爾被推翻。新政府成立,新總理就任。然而,儘管達成了權力分享協議,該國當前的政治混亂使基督徒陷入困境。種族緊張局勢(阿拉伯人與非洲裔)以及穆斯林和基督徒的情況使事情變得複雜。2011年南蘇丹的分裂也使基督徒變得更加脆弱,因為他們的人數減少了,而蘇丹的伊斯蘭保守派也在推動建立伊斯蘭教法國家。

通往伊斯蘭教法之路
在巴希爾被免職之前,政府已經拆毀了許多教堂,這是全面實施伊斯蘭教法一部分,巴希爾曾誓言要在南蘇丹分裂後實施該法。政府還逮捕或恐嚇了許多基督徒領袖。他倒台後,蘇丹在《全球守望名單》上的得分僅下降了2分。蘇丹仍有許多人為該國成為伊斯蘭國家而奮鬥。

種族清洗
褻瀆法常被用來迫害基督徒——許多人害怕分享自己的信仰,因為擔心他們會被指控「鼓動背叛伊斯蘭教的行為」。離開伊斯蘭教跟隨耶穌是非法的,可以判處死刑,而來自穆斯林背景的信徒經常將其信仰完全保密。當他們的新信仰被發現時,有些人被家人軟禁。

在努巴山區,政府試圖種族清洗該處的少數民族地區,成千上萬的基督徒被殺害和流離失所。


禱告事項

  • 禱告新政府(這是一個由總理阿卜杜拉哈姆杜克領導的過渡委員會)會成為一個不分種族和宗教,平等公正地對待所有蘇丹人的政府。
  • 在國家不確定的情況下,為蘇丹教會祈求智慧和耐力。
  • 許多人在2019年的抗議活動中喪生,為仍在哀悼中的人們祈求安慰,在基督耶穌裡得著平安。

相關消息

撒哈拉以南非洲和新冠病毒:您的祈禱是觸及受逼迫信徒心靈的最有效武器

博科聖地暴力迫使喀麥隆群眾逃走 雖然世界上許多國家正處於或正開始擺脫新冠病毒疫情的最嚴重階段,但撒哈拉以南非洲各國才剛剛開始感受到它的影響——許多受影響的國家都是基督徒遭受最嚴重逼迫的地方。...

召喚逼迫者歸向基督

這個故事告訴我們:不要停止為逼迫者禱告 尤素福*(29歲)來自薩赫勒地帶的一個國家。他在穆斯林家庭長大,年輕時到蘇丹學習伊斯蘭法,直到2015年。此後,他畢生致力於把《古蘭經》教授給兒童。尤素福是一位受人尊敬的穆斯林神職人員,他為自己多次閱讀整本《古蘭經》而感到驕傲。...

北非教會需要你的迫切祈禱

阿爾及利亞穆斯林歸主者的洗禮 來自北非,也代表來自穆斯林背景的教會領袖和基督身體的成員的問候。...

2020 全球守望名單 地圖

(A3 PDF)
免費下載