height="a"/>

Two churches in Bangladesh have been violently attacked in recent weeks

Two recent church attacks in Bangladesh show the escalating violence faced by Christians in the country – with militants from various religions being the perpetrators.

East Bangladesh – Attack by local Buddhist extremists

“I can’t go home and sleep, in case I’m attacked. I hide every night, and sleep somewhere else. I still feel that someone is chasing after me.”

Those are the words of a pastor in Bangladesh whose church was destroyed by local Buddhist extremists – twice in two weeks. It’s the second recent story that Open Doors partners have heard of church buildings being attacked.

This violent incident took place one evening in a small community in the east of Bangladesh. The attackers – believed to be local villagers and politicians – were masked, carrying guns, machetes, and wooden sticks. They broke the doors and windows of the church building , cut the tin roof, and demolished the wall of the church.

Christians told to pull down their own church

After destroying the church, the attackers went looking for the pastor to continue the assault, but he and the other believers managed to escape and hide with neighbours. Before the Buddhist extremists left, they threatened to come back if the church wasn’t fully pulled down within three days.

“We love Jesus Christ. We cannot destroy our Lord’s house”

Bangladeshi Worshiper

“How can we destroy our church? It is our worship place,” says one of the believers who attends the church. “We love Jesus Christ; we cannot do it. We cannot destroy our Lord’s house.”

It’s only a small church, with eight regular worshippers from the village. Throughout Bangladesh, Christians make up a tiny percentage of the population – only around 0.5%. Most Bangladeshi people are Muslim (89%), with Hinduism the next most followed faith ( 10%). Buddhists make up a small percentage of the population, but still carry out attacks against the Christian population – particularly, as in this case, if the Christians have converted from Buddhism.

The persecutors came back for a second attack

After a few days, the Christians came back and started trying to rebuild their damaged church. But when the attackers heard about this, they also returned – it was a week after their initial onslaught, and they again destroyed the church.

Desperate for help, the believers appealed to the village leader for help in protecting the church from attack. To their dismay, he advised them to return to their Buddhist background. Having now found a relationship with Jesus, they refuse to do this. But they feel helpless and vulnerable. The small Christian community has endured years of being verbally attacked and socially excluded, and now that violence is escalating they don’t know what to do. Local Open Doors partners are supporting with prayer, and are exploring other ways that they can help these believers.

South West Bangladesh – A similar attack by Hindu extremists

In south west Bangladesh, another church building has also been attacked recently: a local prayer house known as ‘The Mission’ was badly damaged by Hindu extremists, following an ongoing feud between the perpetrators and the people who own The Mission.

“This is not the first time we have faced persecution,” says Pastor Swapan. “It happens quite often to Christians here.”

The attackers were heavily armed with weapons, and had bribed other men to help them launch the ordeal on The Mission. As well as hosting church services and prayer meetings, The Mission also acts as an orphanage – the children and the staff were asleep when the attack began. They were jolted awake when rocks began pounding on the roof, and a staff member called Madan was so badly injured that he had to be hospitalised immediately.

Ignored by the authorities

And why were they attacked? The persecutors don’t believe Christians should own an establishment like The Mission – even though the purchase was legal, and the believers are able to prove their right to be there. In the eyes of the attackers, Christians don ‘t deserve this privilege.

The local police didn’t take the crime seriously – though they visited the site, the complaint by Pastor Swapan wasn’t officially recorded. Pastor Swapan and his church have been threatened with further reprisals if they don’t move out of The Mission.

“This is not the first time we have faced persecution”

PASTOR Swapan

“We cannot fight with these Hindus [the extremist attackers] for they are the majority religion in this village,” says Pastor Swapan. “All the local political leaders and people in power hold the Hindu people at a higher priority. We have been enduring and praying for God to protect us.” 

God has answered the prayer with emergency support and fellowship from Open Doors local partners, but the believers and the orphans living at The Mission are still living in fear that they will be attacked again.

Bangladesh continues to rise on Open Doors’ World Watch List – it is at number 31, up 17 places in the past couple of years. Persecution has worsened in both public and private life, and violent attacks are also increasing. As these recent stories show , Christians don’t just face persecution from Islamic extremists, but also from militants belonging to other faiths.

PLEASE PRAY

  • For the two church buildings to be restored for use quickly, and to be protected from future attacks
  • That the small percentage of Christians in Bangladesh would courageously share the gospel and demonstrate Christ’s love
  • That Open Doors local partners would be equipped to serve and care for persecuted believers.

Would you consider donating regularly to persecuted churches?

The goal of the open door is to “strengthen what remains to be fading” (Revelation 3:2)

Monthly donations can provide continuous assistance and support to persecuted Christians around the world, which also allows us to respond quickly to urgent needs.

height="a"/>

孟加拉的兩所教會最近幾週遭到暴力襲擊

孟加拉最近發生兩宗教堂襲擊事件,顯示該國基督徒面對的暴力正不斷升級-肇事者是來自不同宗教的激進分子。

東部-佛教極端分子的暴力襲擊

一天傍晚時分小社區發生了暴力事件。襲擊者(相信是當地村民和政客)戴著面具,手持槍械、砍刀和木棍,打破了教堂的門窗,砍掉了鐵皮屋頂,並拆毀教堂的牆壁。

牧師說:「我每晚不敢回家睡覺,要到處躲藏以防被襲擊。即便如此我仍然覺得有人在搜尋我。」

教堂在兩週內連續兩次被當地的佛教極端分子破毁。這已經是敞開的門合作伙伴最近獲悉的第二宗教堂遭到襲擊事件。

基督徒被通知要自行拆卸教堂

襲擊者在摧毀教堂後繼續尋找牧師去施襲,但牧師和其他信徒和鄰居已經躲藏起來。佛教極端分子離開之前威脅如果教堂在三天內沒有完全拆除,他們就會回來。

「我們怎麼可以折毀自己的教堂?這是我們敬拜的地方,我們愛耶穌基督;我們不能摧毀我們主的家。」

一名信徒

這是一間只有八名信徒的小教堂。

在整個孟加拉,基督徒只佔人口的一小部分-大約只有 0.5%。大多數國民是穆斯林(89%),緊隨其後的是印度教徒(10%)。縱使佛教徒只佔人口的一小部分,但卻對佛教背景的歸主信徒進行攻擊。

逼迫者回來進行第二次襲擊

幾天後,基督徒回來並開始重建他們損毁的教堂。但當襲擊者聽到這消息後也都回來了-再次摧毀了教堂,這是在第一次襲擊一星期後。

由於急需幫助,信徒尋求村長幫忙保護教堂免受襲擊。令他們沮喪的是,他竟然建議他們回歸佛教。信徒斷然拒絕這樣做。但事情發展卻令他們感到軟弱無助。這小群基督徒已經忍受了數年的口頭攻擊和社會排斥,現在暴力正在升級,他們不知道該怎麼辦。當地敞開的門伙伴除了以祈禱支持外,並探索其他方法去幫助他們。

西南部印度教極端分子的暴力襲擊

在西南部另一座教堂建築最近也遭到襲擊:名為“The Mission”的禱告之家的負責人和肇事者之間持續不斷的糾紛之後,遭到印度教極端分子的嚴重破壞。

「這裡的基督徒經常遇到這種情況,這不是我們第一次面對逼迫!」

- 斯瓦潘牧師

襲擊者全副武裝,並賄賂其他人幫手發動襲擊。The Mission 除了舉辦教會聚會和祈禱會外,也是一所孤兒院-襲擊開始時,孩子們和工作人員都在睡覺。當石頭撞擊屋頂時,他們驚醒了,更甚的是一名叫馬丹的工作人員受了重傷,必須立刻送院治療。

基督徒被漠視

他們為什麼會受到攻擊?

肇事者認為基督徒不應該擁有 The Mission 這樣的一個房產-即使信徒能夠證明他們的購買是合法並擁有使用權。在襲擊者眼中,基督徒不配享有這種特權。

當地警方也沒有認真對待罪行-儘管他們曾經實地查探,但斯瓦潘牧師的投訴卻沒有官方記錄。牧師和教會被恐嚇要搬離這個社區,否則會面臨更多的逼迫。

斯瓦潘牧師說:「我們無法抵抗這些印度教[極端襲擊者],因為這是村裡的主要宗教。所有政治領袖和當權者都將印度教徒置於更優先地位。我們一直在忍耐,並祈求神保護我們。」

神藉著敞開的門伙伴的緊急支援和團契回應了祈禱,但信徒和 The Mission 的孤兒仍然活在再次受到攻擊的恐懼中。

孟加拉國在敞開的門的《全球守望名單》的位置上升至31位,在過去幾年爬升了17位。公共和私人生活的逼迫都在加劇,暴力襲擊也在新增。正如最近的事故所顯示,基督徒不但面臨來自伊斯蘭極端分子的逼迫,還新增了其他宗教的激進分子的逼迫。

禱告要點

  • 盡快修復兩所教堂建築以供使用,並保護免受未來的襲擊
  • 佔少數人口的孟加拉基督徒能勇敢地分享福音,彰顯基督的愛
  • 敞開的門當地伙伴滿有能力去服侍和照顧受逼迫的信徒

你會考慮定期為受逼迫教會捐獻嗎?

敞開的門的目標是「堅固那剩下將要衰微的」(啟示錄 3:2)

每月捐獻能夠為世界各地受逼迫的基督徒提供持續的援助和支持,這也讓我們能夠迅速回應緊急的需要。